Sunshine, snowy slopes, retro parties and tons of fun for everyone – it’s how Fernie rounds out the winter. Less than 5 hours from Spokane in the eastern corner of beautiful British Columbia, spring is the perfect time to head north to discover small mountain charm and big mountain adventure in the Canadian Rockies.

There’s one month left to experience Fernie Alpine Resort this winter, and dozens of reasons to go! It’s been an amazing ski season with over 24 feet of snow to date. Whether you have Spring Break, Easter or spring fun in mind, the final weeks of the season are packed with events you just can’t miss.

 

On March 12-13Helly Hansen Scavenger Hunt. This is geocaching like you’ve never seen it before! Search for ‘Helly Hansen’ in the app store and download the ‘winter duel’ app, then explore all 3,500 feet of vertical on Fernie Alpine Resort’s 2,500 acres, hunting for clues and codes as you go. Claim your finds in the app and then watch your mailbox for mountain goodies! It’s that easy! Celebrate your finds in the Griz Bar with The Deadstrings live after your day on the slopes. Little ones can enjoy free crafts, games and fun at the annual Griz Kidz Winter Carnival in the Plaza from 11am-3pm on March 12.

PowderPedalPaddle1WEB

On March 19Monster Energy Boarderstyle Event. As legendary snowboarder Terje Haakonsen claims, this is “the sport that boardercross should be.” Watch as groups of four snowboarders compete head-to-head on the custom built course for a spot in the World Championships in April. Expect spins, flat out speed and huge crowd-pleaser jumps at the bottom. The Griz Bar is the place to be after the event for a party with Monster Energy.

RetroWEB

On March 26Kokanee’s Retro Ski Day. Celebrate ‘Hot Tub Time Machine’ (filmed partially in Fernie) with your best retro gear and a plaza party with DJ Rocswell, the Kokanee Glacier Girls and Sasquatch! If you can’t make it in March, there’s another chance to show off your neon style on Hot Dog Day, Wednesday April 6, when the slopes will once again be awash with pink, yellow and sky blue. The Pub at Park Place Lodge is the place to be for après.

On March 27Griz Kidz Easter Activities – Send out the kids for a free Easter egg scavenger hunt, crafts and more!

Fernival1

On April 2, rock out to the sound of BCDC – these legendary BC rockers have been imitated by bands from as far afield as Australia, but there’s no denying the authentic sound of the Rocky Mountains. Tickets will sell out so call Guest Services to reserve yours – 250 423 4655.

PowderPedalPaddle2WEB

Fernival Closing Weekend on April 9-10 is packed with fun for the whole family. If you’re feeling energetic, the Raging Elk Powder Pedal Paddle Relay Race kicks things off bright an early. This annual race has taken place for over 30 years and attracts wild and wacky costumes along with some competitive, and not-so-competitive spirits. Ski (or snowboard) then bike, paddle and run as a team or solo competitor or just cheer on the racers as they take on the challenge. After the race, Fernival takes over the plaza with a rock concert of epic proportions. Legendary 80’s Canadian Synth-pop icons Platinum Blonde will take to the stage with hits like ‘Crying over you’ and ‘Situation Critical.’ On Sunday 10, the Coca-Cola Slope Soaker returns for splashing good times. A massive pool at the bottom of the Timber Chairlift challenges you to make it across in style – it’s time to skim or swim! A fantastic event for competitors and spectators alike to round out the season!

SlopesoakerWEB

There’s lots more to experience in Fernie this spring! For a full list of activities, events and attractions, visit tourismfernie.com. #Ferniestoke

Helpful links for planning your next trip to Fernie:

Main Tourism Fernie Event Calendar: tourismfernie.com/events

Helly Hansen Scavenger Hunt: tourismfernie.com/events/helly-hansen-scavenger-hunt-2016

Griz Kids Winter Carnival: tourismfernie.com/events/griz-kidz-winter-carnival

Monster Energy Boarderstyle: tourismfernie.com/events/monster-energy-boarderstyle-at-fernie-alpine-resort

Kokanee Retro Day: tourismfernie.com/events/kokanee-retro-day-2016

Griz Kids Easter Activities: tourismfernie.com/events/griz-kidz-easter-activities

BCDC Concert: tourismfernie.com/events/nightlife-bcdc-at-the-griz-bar

Hot Dog Day: tourismfernie.com/events/hot-dog-day-at-fernie-alpine-resort

Powder Pedal Paddle Relay Race: tourismfernie.com/events/powder-pedal-paddle-relay-race

Fernival with Platinum Blonde: tourismfernie.com/events/fernival | platinumblondeworld.com/

Coca-Cola Slope Soaker: tourismfernie.com/events/slope-soaker

Fernie Alpine Resort: skifernie.com

FWA Catskiing spring discount: tourismfernie.com/packages-offers/FWA-catskiing

Island Lake Snowcat-Assisted Guided Touring: tourismfernie.com/activities/ski-touring/island-lake-catskiing

Historic Downtown Fernie: http://tourismfernie.com/history/historic-downtown

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Fernie.Canada | www.facebook.com/FernieAlpineResort

Instagram: www.instagram.com/tourismfernie | www.instagram.com/ferniealpineresort

Spring Skiing Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-OUctn4QwQ